little pleasures of language 08|10|11

Before I even could imagine that one day I will actually go to France, not to mention even to move to France, I started to learn French with couple of colleagues of mine. For pure pleasure of learning, and French sounds so nice after all. After half a year of studies, I imagined to be able to keep up a small conversation. But to my surprise and frustration, on arrival in Paris I understood that I have to start all over again. I was only able to buy baguette, I could not understand fluent conversations and, even more, I was not able to take part in conversations. Which is even more frustrating.

Once I bought turkey meat instead of chicken because I thought that dinde (turkey) is the name of chicken brand. I used to ask for yellow (jaune) cheese instead of young (jeune). And it took me half a year to pronounce correctly finally (enfin) and child (enfant), which is, I assure you, the same sound. Just to say enfin one has to strech mouth. Once I even said to my boss to go to ‘do shit’ (fais chier) instead of file (ficher). And yes, sometimes people watch me with this strange look on their faces – ‘what did you just say?’.

But there is always bright side, there are couple of words I don’t have to learn because I already know them – trottoir, abat-jour, balcon, terrasse – is the same in French and Latvian. Pronunciation, not spelling. Just to make it clear. I mean,  what is this French language where you write beaucoup (much) to pronounce only four letters?

photo by ©alexandre.ammar

Comments
One Response to “little pleasures of language 08|10|11”
  1. hi, hi, j’imagine la tête de ton patron , c’est rigolo. Je n’avais jamais réfléchi à la prononciation de enfin et enfant. Notre oreille doit être formée quand nous sommes tout petits à ce genre de nuances et je comprend que ce soit difficile pour toi. J’ai les mêmes soucis quand je vais en Angleterre. Heureusement on sait que tu es étrangère et cela rajoute à ton charme.
    J’ai des amis d’enfance en Angleterre et nous nous connaissons depuis environ 50 ans. Mes amis sont issus d’une fratrie de 5 enfants et je vais souvent dans le Suffolk voir Anna et Bridget. Suzie nous rejoint de Dallas assez régulièrement et Kate nous a fait la surprise de venir d’Australie l’année dernière. C’est toujours la fête quand nous nous retrouvons, des moments délicieux où nous rions et pleurons, bref chargés de plein d’émotions. Je n’ai pas vu James pendant des années et Anna me dit un jour en anglais, tu sais James a un peu grossi. Il a toujours été si mince et je fait part à Anna de mon étonnement mais mélange mes mots anglais et allemands et au lieu de dire oh I would like to see James big j’ai dit, quelle horreur : I would see james Dick ! Ayayayaille, en voyant leur expression j’ai bien compris que quelque-chose n’allait pas. Il y a eu un blanc suivi d’un énorme rire de la famille.

Leave a Reply

